OK, so that break was a little bit longer than planned. Corrie was awesome (humour me, I'm originally from Oop North, Corrie reminds me of home), and then there was Glee (good excuse for another picture of Puck - when he did the cover of Marky Mark and the Funky Bunch in Monday's episode, I fell in love with him a little bit more), and then last night I was otherwise engaged, and yada yada yada.
Anyway I'm back, sipping a chilled glass of Oyster Bay Sauvignon (I'm hoping that if I link to them enough, their PR might 'outreach' to me and send me lots of wine, because I am obviously a key tastemaker/early adopter/key opinion former - don't ya just love marketing-speak??!!) and preparing for tonight's Big Brother onslaught. If I don't blog 'live' it's either because I've drunk too much Oyster Bay to see, I'm stabbing myself in the leg with a fork, or I've completely lost the will to live after witnessing tonight's Biiiiiiiiiig Brother.
It was suggested that I set up a Twitter account, and link it to my blog so that I can tweet my Big Brother comments direct to my blog. Hmmmm - I don't quite get this, I sit on the sofa keying my comments into my mobile, which then appears on my blog. And the reason to not just type on my laptop is...? Actually, don't get me started on Twitter, we'll be here all night and I want to reserve LOTS of time to vent on that particular subject - and in WAY more than 140 characters.
So, to tonight's main whinge - the World Cup. I can already hear the intakes of breath.....let me start by making this clear, I DON'T HATE THE WORLD CUP (that would expend too much energy).
I don't especially like it, it messes up the TV schedules when we have perfectly good sports channels for that sort of thing. But I just can't bear the fact that you are instantly treated like a social pariah for the shocking crime of NOT BEING ESPECIALLY BOTHERED ABOUT THE WORLD CUP.
Football is great, grown men kicking a ball around a field is just fucking amazing. The fact that they are paid six figure salaries PER WEEK to do it makes it even better. However, to treat anyone that really isn't bothered about football as some kind of traitor to English pride is just fucking pathetic. "But football is our national sport, everyone loves a bit of footie" you bleat - erm, Christianity is our national religion despite a minority of the population being practising Christians. And how annoyed do you get when the Archbishop of Canterbury gets masses of political and media attention when he spouts some nonsense or other?
And the excruciating news coverage - Wayne Rooney spotted wearing a plastic crucifix makes the front page of broadsheet newspapers? Give me a fucking break people.
At this point I should mention the blog of my glamorous friend and colleague (she is actually a gay man trapped in a woman's body - she is more gay than I am) - World Cup Girlfriend. If anything will make sense of this World Cup lark this will.
Anway, rant over. Remember - before the flood of over-defensive comments - I don't hate the World Cup, I just hate the fact that not liking it makes me some kind of abnormal unpatriotic outcast.
And now for a gratuitous picture of David Beckham....





No comments:
Post a Comment